Alexandre Ponnavoy is Cellar Master for the Maison Taittinger. Originally from Burgundy, this son and grandson of farmers studied agronomy and plant physiology in Dijon before devoting himself body and soul to the world of champagne. With a diploma of oenology in his pocket, he set off through the world of effervescent wines in California and South Africa before joining the Station Œnotechnique de Champagne where he worked as a oenology consultant for more than ten years. As head of the winery located on the outskirts of Reims, he has been crafting Taittinger wines since 2018.   

The beginning
The family farm where I grew up specialised in fruit production and I was fascinated at an early age by the transformation and marketing of the products. On arriving in Reims for my oenology studies, I immediately fell in love with the multi-faceted world of the Champagne appellation. From the vineyard to the bottle, there is an alchemy that corresponds to many of the aspects of what I was looking for professionally. Then everything came together very quickly: travels that gave me a broad view of the effervescent wine sector, ten years of oenology consulting primarily based in the Aube district, and then in 2015, the first contact with the Maison Taittinger, which was looking for a successor for its emblematic Head of Cellar Loïc Dupont, who was close to retirement after 34 years of service.

Transmission
I am very loyal. I knew from the beginning that the relationship with Taittinger would be a long-term affair. I had to put some thought into it of course, but I got along well immediately with Loïc… Three years of training and transmission with many blending and tasting sessions while I learned to take stock and understand this heritage. And then came the finishing touches on the new winery. Three years of very good memories, sounding out our ideas and hopes, knowing that we were in tune from an oenological point of view. When I started tasting the cuvees, I immediately identified with the Taittinger style; it thrilled me and I recognised in it my own values and predilections. The Côte des Blancs Chardonnays from the Vitryat and Sézannais terroirs shine for their taut and mineral nature, the Montagne de Reims Pinots Noirs provide depth, and the Pinots Noirs from Aube offer crispness and fruity notes. A style founded on elegance, refinement and purity while possessing a fleshy and sensual base that ensures excellent ageing potential. In short, a simple yet accomplished blend.

Mission
In taking over as Cellar Master, I became the guarantor for the Taittinger style. I am duty bound to perpetuate this style, the cornerstone and capital on which the Taittinger house and family are built. I will, of course, add some small personal touches over time, if only to adapt to new developments, but always with the overriding provision to never stray from our core values. The new winery is extremely symbolic in this respect: this highly technological building holds many of the old vats with the microbial flora that expressly distinguish our wines. Modernity at the service of tradition.

On a daily basis
I am responsible for fashioning wines that develop over time. I create a cuvee which will only complete its ageing process in several years. It is often said that a Head of Cellar works for their successor. The role of Head of Cellar requires not only technical expertise but also intuition. This begins early in the year: the quality of the plots before harvesting even begins already makes it possible to pinpoint which are the most promising and to imagine how to prepare the winery in consequence for the future blends. The harvest is crucial as vinification will be decided at the time of pressing. Then it is a question of monitoring the wines as they develop and seeing how they express themselves with regard to vintage and terroir. Our winery provides the aromatic palette from which we will create our blends. Then come many tastings, discussions, interactions and note-taking to determine how to best orient the wines with relation to our cuvees. In the art of blending, one plus one does not make two; each wine brings its own personality to another to create something completely new and unique. We renew this creation every year with different parameters in order to obtain a consistent result. Nevertheless, although we can control the quality of our wines through technique, we cannot control the wine’s essence, which is what makes this craft so fascinating.

The Future
For the time being, we note that global warming has had a rather positive effect on Champagne wines, as proved by the quality of the last fifteen years. But what worries me the most is the increase in extreme violent weather events. Heavy rains, intense storms, hailstorms and heat waves threaten vineyards since they do not flourish in great extremes. We try to do what we can at our level: our plots are covered in grass and worked mechanically without using herbicides. This is better for both the environment and our wines as it allows us to harvest high-quality grapes that really express the terroir. But the big picture is a bit of a guess. We will have to be increasingly reactive in adapting to these phenomena and in finding the right tools and methods. As I am an optimist at heart, I sincerely believe that we will find the solutions to continue producing champagne, that totally unique and exceptional wine.

Ideal wine
It is a champagne that induces pleasure and emotion. For me personally, it is fresh and taut with a robust structure. A strong backbone clothed in lace.

www.taittinger.com
@champagnetaittinger
Text : Jules Février

Alexandre Ponnavoy est le chef de caves de la Maison Taittinger. Natif de bourgogne, ce petit-fils et fils d’agriculteur a étudié l’agronomie et la physiologie végétale à Dijon avant de se plonger corps et âme dans l’univers du champagne. Diplôme d’œnologie en poche, il commence par sillonner le monde des vins effervescents en Californie et en Afrique du Sud puis intègre la Station Œnotechnique de Champagne où il distille ses bons conseils pendant plus de dix ans. À la tête de la cuverie installée en périphérie de Reims, il est depuis 2018 le chef d’orchestre des vins Taittinger.    

Genèse
La ferme familiale où j’ai grandi s’est spécialisée dans la production de fruits et j’ai très vite été passionné par les notions de transformation et de commercialisation du produit. Quand je suis venu à Reims passer mon DNO (Diplôme National d’œnologue), j’ai été pris d’une passion immédiate pour ce monde aux multiples facettes de l’appellation Champagne. De la vigne au vin, cela constituait une alchimie qui cochait beaucoup de cases dans la liste de ce que je recherchais professionnellement. Puis tout s’est enchaîné assez vite : des voyages qui m’ont donné une vision transversale du monde de l’effervescent, ces dix ans d’œnologie conseil principalement basé dans l’Aube puis en 2015 ce premier contact avec la Maison Taittinger qui cherchait un successeur à son emblématique chef de cave Loïc Dupont, proche de la retraite après 34 ans de bons services.

Transmission
Je suis un homme très fidèle. Étant approché par Taittinger, je savais que cette relation allait se construire pour très longtemps. Il m’a fallu réfléchir bien sûr, mais je me suis tout de suite parfaitement entendu avec Loïc. Trois ans de tuilage, trois années de transmission avec de multiples cessions d’assemblages et de dégustations pour prendre la mesure de ce patrimoine. Et puis la finalisation de la nouvelle cuverie. Trois ans de très bons souvenirs à confronter nos idées et nos envies sachant qu’œnologiquement parlant nous étions proches. Quand j’ai commencé à déguster les cuvées, je me suis reconnu immédiatement dans le style Taittinger, j’ai senti que cela me faisait vibrer et j’y ai retrouvé mes valeurs et mes goûts. Les chardonnays de la Côte des Blancs, du Vitryat et du Sézannais pour la tension et la minéralité ; les pinots noirs de la Montagne de Reims qui apportent la profondeur ; et les pinots noirs de l’Aube pour le croquant et le fruité. Un style basé sur l’élégance, la finesse, la pureté, tout en ayant un fond de vin charnu et charnel qui permet d’avoir un fort potentiel de garde. Un mariage simple et heureux en somme.

Mission
En prenant les clés de la cuverie, je suis devenu le garant du style Taittinger. Je me dois de le perpétuer, c’est le socle et le capital sur lesquels la Maison et la famille Taittinger sont enracinées. Bien sûr avec le temps il y aura des petites touches personnelles, ne serait-ce que pour s’adapter aux évolutions avec toujours l’obligation de ne jamais perdre notre âme. La nouvelle cuverie est très emblématique à ce propos : dans ce bâtiment très technologique, nous avons gardé beaucoup des anciennes cuves avec leurs flores microbiennes qui marquent spécifiquement nos vins. La modernité au service de la tradition.

Quotidien
Mon travail est d’élaborer des vins dans le temps. Je construis une cuvée qui finira sa maturation dans plusieurs années. On dit souvent qu’un chef de cave travaille pour son successeur. Le métier de chef de cave demande de la technique mais aussi de l’intuition. Cela commence très tôt dans l’année ; la qualité des parcelles avant même la vendange permet déjà de préparer mentalement sa cuverie pour les futurs assemblages en isolant les secteurs les plus prometteurs. La vendange est fondamentale, en fin de compte la vinification se décide au moment du pressurage. Après il s’agit d’accompagner les vins dans leur évolution et leur permettre de se révéler, par rapport au millésime et au terroir. Notre cuverie nous fournit la palette aromatique à partir de laquelle nous allons construire nos assemblages. C’est alors beaucoup de dégustations, de prises de notes, de discussions, d’échanges pour bien orienter nos vins par rapport à nos cuvées. Dans l’art de l’assemblage, un plus un ne fait pas deux, chaque vin apporte sa touche à l’autre pour en créer un nouveau tout à fait particulier. C’est une création que l’on renouvelle tous les ans avec des paramètres différents pour aboutir à un résultat constant. Mais si on maîtrise la qualité des vins par nos techniques, on ne maîtrise pas l’âme du vin, c’est ce qui rend le métier passionnant.

Avenir
Pour le moment, nous constatons que le réchauffement climatique a été plutôt profitable aux vins de Champagne, la qualité des quinze derniers millésimes le prouve. Mais ce qui m’inquiète le plus c’est la recrudescence de phénomènes météorologiques violents. De fortes pluies, des gros orages, des gelées, des canicules qui mettent à mal la vigne qui n’aime pas les grands excès. À notre échelle, on essaie de faire notre part : nos parcelles sont enherbées, travaillées mécaniquement sans herbicide. C’est mieux pour l’environnement et pour nos vins également car nous récoltons des raisins de qualité qui expriment vraiment le terroir. Mais à grande échelle, c’est un peu l’inconnu. Il va falloir être de plus en plus réactifs pour s’adapter à ces phénomènes, trouver les bons outils et les bonnes méthodes. Comme je suis d’une nature optimiste, je crois sincèrement que nous allons trouver des solutions pour continuer à produire le champagne, ce vin d’exception totalement unique.

Vin idéal
C’est un champagne qui créé du plaisir et de l’émotion. Pour mon goût personnel, il aura de la fraîcheur, de la tension et une structure solide. Une charpente entourée de dentelles.

www.taittinger.com
@champagnetaittinger
Texte : Jules Février